The Board

The foundation has a board which is the foundation’s supreme body. The board shall consist of 6 or 7 members with personal deputies. Board and deputies are elected for 4 years at a time. The longest term of office is 8 years, unless a majority in the board and a majority of the founders find that there are special reasons to deviate from this.

Chairperson: Håvar Fjerdingøy (SNSK)
Deputy: Sveinung Lystrup Thesen. Appointed by Store Norske Spitsbergen Kulkompani.


Vice-chairperson: Nina Frisak (SMS)
Deputy: Per Kyrre Reymert. Appointed by Governor of Svalbard.

Board Member: Kristin Furu Grøtting (LL)
Deputy: Espen Klungseth Rotevatn. Appointed by Longyearbyen Lokalstyre (community council).

Board Member: Stine H Teigen (LL)
Deputy: Torgeir Prytz. Appointed by Longyearbyen Lokalstyre (community council).

Board Member: Kim Holmén (NP)
Deputy: Åshild Ø Pedersen. Appointed by Norwegian Polar Institute.

Board Member: Frank Nilsen (UNIS).
Deputy: Pernille Bronken Eidissen. Appointed by The University Centre in Svalbard.

Employee representative: Mikael A Bjerkestrand

Deputy: Herdis Lien

Observator, Governor of Svalbard: Lise Loktu